top of page

Understanding the Fifth Yoga SutraExploring the Nature of Mental Modifications

The fifth sutra in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali is,

“Vrittayah pancatayyah klistaklistah”

“The modifications of the mind are fivefold and can be either painful (klista) or non-painful (aklista).”

I believe that it helps in overcoming what we perceive as suffering by knowing that what we are feeling and experiencing are normal patterns of the mind, and are meant to guide us to better understanding them so we can release them.

When my mind grasps hold of what I believe to be a perfectly normal agitations, such as when I perceive a slight or unkindness towards me or a disappointment, I can see my mind begin to grasp hold of an old pattern of “woe is me-ism.” As a result, my mood drops, as well as my energy and overall outlook on my self-worth and my life. But when I can apply the understanding of these first sutras to my thoughts, I can recognize the pattern, realize that it is the normal progression of the mind, and then begin to work my way back up to a positive place with a greater understanding that nothing happened except for my perceptions.

Today we will delve into the meaning and implications of this sutra, exploring how it provides a framework for understanding the workings of the mind and the nature of human experience.

  1. Vrittayah (Modifications): The term "vrittayah" refers to the modifications, fluctuations, or movements of the mind. These are the various ways in which our consciousness manifests and operates. Patanjali identifies five types of mental modifications, which we will discuss shortly.

  2. Pancatayyah (Fivefold): This indicates that there are five distinct categories of mental modifications. Each type has a unique nature and influence on our consciousness.

  3. Klistah (Painful) and Aklistah (Non-painful): The sutra emphasizes that these modifications can be either painful or non-painful. "Klistah" refers to those modifications that cause suffering, distress, or discomfort, while "aklistah" refers to those that do not cause suffering and may even be neutral or positive in nature.

According to Patanjali, the five types of mental modifications are:

  1. Pramana (Right Knowledge): This includes correct perception, inference, and reliable testimony. When our understanding aligns with reality, it is considered pramana. While it can be accurate, it is still a modification of the mind that affects our consciousness.

  2. Viparyaya (Misconception): This occurs when our perceptions or beliefs do not align with reality. Misconceptions can lead to misunderstanding and erroneous judgments, causing suffering.

  3. Vikalpa (Imagination): Vikalpa refers to mental constructs, fantasies, or imaginations that are not based on direct experience or reality. These can be harmless daydreams or cause confusion if mistaken for reality.

  4. Nidra (Sleep): Sleep is a state of mind where there is an absence of other mental modifications. While necessary for rest and rejuvenation, it is also a modification that affects our consciousness.

  5. Smriti (Memory): Memory is the retention of past experiences and impressions. It influences our present thoughts and actions, often coloring our perceptions and responses.

The distinction between painful and non-painful modifications is crucial. Painful modifications (klistah) contribute to our suffering and disturbance. These are often rooted in ignorance, egoism, attachment, aversion, and fear of death—collectively known as the kleshas. Non-painful modifications (aklistah), on the other hand, do not inherently cause suffering and can contribute to clarity, understanding, and peace.

Understanding the nature of these mental modifications is fundamental to the practice of yoga. The ultimate goal of yoga is to still the fluctuations of the mind (as stated in the second sutra: "Yogas chitta vritti nirodhah"). By recognizing and discerning the nature of our mental modifications, we can work towards reducing the painful ones and cultivating a state of mental clarity and equanimity.

**1. Mindfulness and Awareness: Practicing mindfulness allows us to observe our thoughts and mental modifications without attachment or judgment. This awareness is the first step in transforming our mental landscape.

**2. Meditation: Regular meditation helps in quieting the mind and reducing the influence of painful modifications. It fosters a deeper connection with our true self, beyond the fluctuations of the mind.

**3. Self-Study (Svadhyaya): Engaging in self-study and reflection helps us understand the roots of our painful modifications and work towards transcending them.

**4. Ethical Living (Yamas and Niyamas): Adhering to ethical principles and personal disciplines as outlined in the Yamas and Niyamas supports a balanced and harmonious mental state, reducing the occurrence of painful modifications.

The fifth sutra of Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras provides profound insight into the workings of the human mind. By understanding the fivefold nature of mental modifications and their potential to be either painful or non-painful, we gain a valuable framework for our yoga practice. This awareness guides us in cultivating a tranquil mind, ultimately leading to the realization of our true, unchanging self.

Hari Om Tat Sat

19 views0 comments


bottom of page